BBC global survey shows evolving news consumption habits across multiple screens

It’s doubtful that many people would disagree with the belief that our behaviours in how, where and when we consume content – the evolved way of saying what we used to describe as reading the papers, listening to the radio or watching TV – have shifted dramatically and permanently with the broad and deep penetration of technology, both hardware and software. We’re exposed to research, surveys and opinions – much of it highly credible – to show us how our…

Andrea Weckerle will answer your questions at FIR’s April 5 Book Club session

Andrea Weckerle, author of Civility in the Digital Age, is set to take your questions during FIR’s next Book Club, which Book Review Editor Bob LeDrew will host. Friday, April 5, 2013 9am PDT | 11am CDT | 12 pm EDT | 5pm BST FIR Book Club at TalkShoe Andrea is also the founder and president of CiviliNation, a non-profit organization established to take a stand against online hostility, character assassination and adult cyberbullying. LeDrew’s review of Civility in the…

Desperation driving ad creativity

How do you address the clear trend of people not paying attention to your ad during the commercial breaks on TV? They’re either not watching at all during the breaks, or fast-forwarding through the ads if their programme is recorded; or, giving their attention to something else on a second or third screen. For whatever reason, people aren’t glued exclusively to their TV screens as they used to be in those golden days of yore. With so much competing for…

The Hobson and Holtz Report – Podcast #696: March 25, 2013

Intro: FIR Interview with Steve Rubel set for this week, still time for your 10% discount for this week’s Social Media Measurement & Monitoring conference in London, Neville on panel discussion with Marketing Profs’ Ann Handley on March 27 and live as a Google+ Hangout On Air; Quick News: Klout offers access to big data with launch of business dashboard for brands, the implications of the AP’s win in copyright battle with Meltwater, New York Times attempts a structured comment…

The dawn of the valuable-ad era

Here are two ideas about advertising – online and offline – that could catch on in a big way and ‘evolutionize’ entire industries. Social news and entertainment site Reddit plans to let users vote on the ads they see when using the website, voting up those they like and down those they don’t: […] Our primary goal is to make advertisements on reddit as useful and non-intrusive as possible. We take great pride in the fact that reddit is one…

Close